Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
School Board Recognition Week
School Board Recognition Week
Wendy Heslink
Tuesday, October 12, 2021

The New York State School Boards Association recognizes October 18 - 22 as School Board Recognition Week. This is a time to promote awareness and understanding of the important work performed by school board members. Cassadaga Valley Central School is joining all public school districts across the state to celebrate School Board Recognition Week to honor local board members for their commitment to CVCS and its children.

 “It takes strong schools to build a strong community, and these men and women devote countless hours to making sure our schools are helping every child learn at a higher level,” Superintendent Charles Leichner said. “They make the tough decisions every month and spend many hours studying education issues and regulations in order to provide the kind of accountability our citizens expect.”

 Mr. Leichner said the key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by:

  • Creating a shared vision for the future of education
  • Setting the direction of the school district to achieve the highest student performance
  • Providing accountability for student achievement results
  • Developing a budget that aligns district resources to improve achievement
  • Supporting a healthy school district culture in which to work and to learn
  • and much more!

“School board members give the Cassadaga Valley community a voice in education decision making. Even though we annually make a special effort to show our appreciation this month, their contribution is a year-round commitment,” Mr. Leichner said.

 CVCS is grateful for the time and dedication of the following board members serving our district:

Jeanne Oag, President
Marcus Clark, Vice President
William Carlson
Diane Ellsworth
Aaron Richner